Implementation of National Response Framework Mission Area

This Implementation effort is consistent with Presidential Policy Directive (PPD)-8. Core capabilities are the distinct elements needed to achieve the National Preparedness Goal (NPG) (See Overview of the National planning Frameworks).

The Response mission area includes 14 core capabilities as follows:

1. Planning

2. Public Information and Warning

3. Operational Coordination

4. Critical Transportation

5. Environmental Response/Health and Safety

6. Fatality Management Services

7. Infrastructure Systems

8. Mass Care Services

9. Mass Search and Rescue Operations

10. On-Scene Security and Protection

11. Operational Communications

12. Public and Private Services and Resources

13. Public Health and Medical Services

14. Situational Assessment.


Command and Management: Incident Commander (IC) and Command Staff

According to NIMS, the Incident Command System is responsible for the overall management of a system.

The five management functions of the Incident Command System of an incident are:

15. Incident Command – Sets the incident objectives, strategies, and priorities and has overall responsibility for the incident.

16. Operations – Conducts operations to reach the incident objectives.

17. Planning – Supports the incident action planning process by tracking resources, and collecting/analyzing information.

18. Logistics – Provides resources and needed services to support the achievement of the incident objectives.

19. Finance & Administration Monitors costs related to the incident (NIMS).

DHS Law and Policy

· There are several laws regulating the Department of Homeland Security, the NRF and NIMS guiding principles—too many to list. See: Law and Policy, Department of Homeland Security.

Note: Module 1 Discussion will continue the theme by covering ethics and integrity.



CASE Assignment:



· Rank order (in order of priority) the 14 core capabilities of the NRF. From your first top three choices only, explain why you rank ordered them as such. Be specific.

· Explain how the United States conducts an all-hazards response in the five preparedness mission areas of prevention, protection, mitigation, response, and disaster recovery.


· When would a Deputy Incident Commander (Deputy IC) be necessary? Give examples.

· In The missing piece of NIMS: Teaching incident commanders how to function in the edge of Chaos, the author notes that first responders have to deal with a disaster situation already unfolding, and not “all the pieces fit together nicely.” The author writes about the Five Tenets of Working in Chaos. Please paraphrase each one using your own words.

DHS Law and Policy

· Go to the website Law and Policy , choose one law or policy and briefly comment on it. Be specific.